Christmas Cookies

I love good food.   Possibly too much.   Thankfully I also love to make and share food with good friends and family (a far better tactic for my waistline).  In fact when my husband and I met we fed each other into an extra 40 pounds in the first year…  That is another story, but it does serve to illustrate just how high I have held the sharing of food on the ladder of things I do when I like someone.

So tonight I took part in one of my favorite things: making Christmas cookies.   I didn’t have anyone to share the process with (another thing that makes me happy, being crafty / baking with other people) but I had fun anyway!   Yesterday I made pizelle for us, today was the extra large batch for small gifts.   I plan on leaving some for the friend who is staying in our home while we are gone for the holidays, and giving some away to close friends instead of buying gifts.

There are several other cookies that are part of my traditional christmas celebrations but I will be waiting to make those until we have reached my in-law’s home where there will be more people to help me eat them!   I think on this topic that it is a good thing that I have learned to temper Misha’s overabundance of  joy in cookies.  She would pilfer them at any available point and gorge herself way past any reasonable point.   The beginning of the necessary lesson in tasting, not devouring, the cookies came at the age of 5.   I have the clearest memory of the mortification and just pure sickness at being caught having eaten somewhere around 20 Buck-eye Balls in the course of 20 minutes or so…. in the middle of the living room at my parent’s annual Christmas party… by my Aunt…  and then promptly throwing up all over her… and my feet.

So in this one case I think I will keep Misha’s glee in cookies, and try to combine that with her joy in sharing good things.   All these cookies will be wrapped up tomorrow and will be leaving my home by the end of the week.

***** just in case you were wondering, here is the recipe for Buck-Eye Balls.  They are really good, I promise (I think I even ate one more after getting sick that one time).  They are also deadly for any kind of diet, so they work best as gifts!  Enjoy!******

Makes 5 dozen.

1 1/2 cups creamy peanut butter
1/2 cup margarine (room temperature)
1 tsp vanilla
1 – 16 oz pkg confectioners sugar
1 – 6 oz pkg semi-sweet choc. pieces
2 Tablespoons crisco shortening

Line pan with wax paper.

Mix together peanut butter, vanilla, sugar and margarine with hands to form smooth dough.

Shape into balls using 2 tsp. each.  Place on wax paper and refrigerate.

Melt chocolate and shortening in top of double boiler.  Pour into small measuring cup. Insert toothpick in dough balls and dip 3/4 of ball into chocolate.  Return to wax paper.  Chocolate side down and remove pick.

Refrigerate until chocolate is firm.  Store in refrigerator.

2 thoughts on “Christmas Cookies

  1. Pingback: The Tale of Christmas Cookies Past « Running Naked With Scissors

  2. Pingback: No Bake Cookies…Measure…Stir…Drop | jeanne's blog…a nola girl at heart

Leave a Reply

